Eight of the 60 participants were awarded prizes, each carrying a value of €5000

Geneva Lewis Motti Fang-Bentov

One of the prize-winners: Geneva Lewis
Photo: Motti Fang-Bentov

The Kronberg Academy has awarded prizes to eight of the 60 participants on its 2021 series of Violin Masterclasses and Concerts, which took place from 13-20 June.

The prizes, each of €5000, were awarded as follows:

Prince of Hesse Prize:  Geneva Lewis (23, New Zealand, USA), Javier Comesaña (22, Spain).

Ana Chumachenco Award: Kaori Furusawa (22, Japan), Vassily Chmykov (21, France).

Manfred Grommek Prize: Carla Marrero Martínez (26, Spain), Anna Agafia Egholm (25, Denmark).

In addition, Maya Wichert (15, Germany) and Carolin Grün (20, Deutschland) were each awarded a scholarship to take part in a further masterclass at the Kronberg Academy.


Read No first prize awarded at 2021 Premio Paolo Borciani competition

Read Inaugural Piazzolla Music Competition announces winners

Read Violist Yuchen Lu wins 2021 Klein International String Competition


Launched in 2009, the Violin Masterclasses and Concerts provide a platform for discovering and supporting young artists, who come to Kronberg to learn from luminaries including Pavel Vernikov, Kolja Blacher, Mihaela Martin and Gerhard Schulz.

Owing to the restrictions of the pandemic, this year’s event was held with a limited number of participants and restricted audience numbers. 

The next Violin Masterclasses and Concerts will take place in two years’ time, in June 2023.