The German piano quartet has received €25,000 and special recognition from the German Music Council 

thumbnail_WürthPreis_JMD_2022© WürthPeter Petter

Photo: Würth/Peter Petter

Photo (from left) Laudator Jörg Widmann, Carmen Würth, Member of the Board of the Würth Foundation Maria Würth, Antonia Köster (piano), Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Würth Foundation Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhold Würth, Andrea Burger (viola), Philip Graham (cello), Sindri Lederer (violin), Chairman of the Board of the Würth Foundation Harald Unkelbach, JMD President Johannes Freyer. 

Read more news articles here

The Notos Quartet has won the Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland’s Würth Award in an award ceremony at the headquarters of the Würth Group in Künzelsau in Baden-Württemberg, Germany on 26 September.  

Held as ‘one of the most exclusive awards in the German music landscape’, the quartet has won a prize fund of €25,000 as well as special recognition from the German Music Council.  

‘Their playing is highly sensitive and rounded’ said adjudicator, clarinettist and conductor Jörg Widmann. ‘Each an excellent individual musician, in their own right, the four put their musical skills at the service of the even higher cause of chamber music, a fragile archetype of music-making.’ 

The members of Notos Quartet - Sindri Lederer (violin), Andrea Burger (viola), Philip Graham (cello) and Antonia Köster (piano) - have won multiple awards worldwide. In 2017 they were named ‘newcomer of the year’ in the ECHO Klassik awards and have released three albums, two of which are under the Sony Classical label. The ensemble’s 2021 CD The Schöenberg Effect includes an arrangement of Brahms’ Symphony no.3 arranged by Andreas Nikolai specially for the quartet.


In a post on social media, the Notos Quartet said: ‘We are still deeply moved by the moving words of our laudator Jörg Widmann and the founder Dr. Reinhold Würth. We are very happy about the award with the Würth Prize, which has already been awarded to such significant personalities as Claudio Abbado, Gustavo Dudamel, Lars Vogt and Jörg Widmann!’ 

For the final, the Notos Quartet performed a movement from Mozart’s Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, K. 493 and Brahms’ Piano Quartet in G Minor, op. 25. Presenting the award, chairman of the supervisory board of the Würth Foundation, Reinhold Würth said: ‘For a moment this evening, we can detach ourselves from coronavirus, the Ukraine war, and climate problems and allow ourselves to be taken in by the magic of music for the sake of our soul and spirit. I think this gives us back a bit of strength.’