All Article articles – Page 19

  • Tchaikovsky Heath

    Tchaikovsky: String Quartets: no.1 in D major op.11, no.3 in E flat minor op.30


    The Strad Issue: March 2017 Description: The Heath turns from Tippett to Tchaikovsky with mixed results Musicians: Heath Quartet Composer: Tchaikovsky Catalogue number: HARMONIA MUNDI HMU 907665 The Heath Quartet jumps in at the deep end in its debut CD for ...

  • Layout 1

    Rostropovich Encores - music by Chopin, Debussy, Popper, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, Ravel, Rostropovich, Scriabin, Sinding and Stravinsky


    THE STRAD RECOMMENDS The Strad Issue: March 2017 Description: Gerhardt emulates the great Slava but finds his own personal intimacy Musicians: Alban Gerhardt (cello) Markus Becker (piano) Composer: Chopin, Debussy, Popper, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, Ravel, Rostropovich, Scriabin, Sinding and Stravinsky Catalogue number: ...

  • Simpson Four Seasons

    C. Simpson: The Four Seasons


    THE STRAD RECOMMENDS The Strad Issue: March 2017 Description: A seasons cycle that pre-dates Vivaldi's by six decades Musicians: Sirius Viols; Lee Santana (cittern/theorbo), Johannes Gontarski (bandora/guitar/archlute/cittern) Andreas Küppers (organ) Composer: C. Simpson Catalogue number: DEUTSCHE HARMONIA MUNDI 88875 19098-2 ...

  • AUSTRIA / Janoska-Brüder © Julia Wesely

    The Janoska Ensemble performs Rumba for Amadeus - plus tips for playing with 'Janoska Style'


    In the video above the Janoska Ensemble perform their own improvisation based upon Mozart's Piano Concerto no. 20 - 'Rumba for Amadeus'. The group of three brothers - Ondrej, Frantisek and Roman Janoska - together with their brother-in-law Julius Darvas provide tips below for performing violinist Roman's ...

  • Bach Zilliacus

    Dansa - Bach: Violin Partita no.2 in D minor BWV1004, Cruger: Befiehl du deine Wege, Henryson: Violin Sonata, Regnart: Wo soll lich fliehen hin, S.-D. Sandström: Dansa


    THE STRAD RECOMMENDS The Strad Issue: March 2017 Description: Zilliacus explores Bach and contemporary responses to his music Musicians: Cecilia Zilliacus (violin), Lena Willemark (voice/violin) Composer: Bach, Cruger, Henryson, S.-D. Sandström Catalogue number: BIS 2159 (SACD) After her superlative recording ...

  • ames

    Stolen ‘Ames’ Stradivarius violin returns to the stage


    There was evidence that the thief tried to glue the cracks himself with superglue' - Bruno Price, Rare Violins of New York. The 'Ames' Stradivarius violin is to return to the stage after an extensive year-long restoration. The instrument was stolen from from the office of violinist ...

  • hupfeld

    The Hupfeld Phonoliszt Violina - a self-playing violin invented in 1907


    Invented in 1907, the Hupfeld Company’s ‘violin player’ was one of the marvels revealed at the World’s Fair of 1910 in Brussels. The instrument is a combination of a player piano and three violins (each with only one active string), which are mounted vertically and played with a ...

  • bell

    Joshua Bell performs Saint-Saëns' Violin Concerto no. 3


    Violinist Joshua Bell performs Saint-Saëns' Violin Concerto no. 3 with the Verbier Festival Junior Orchestra conducted by Joshua Weilerstein. The performance was recorded at the Verbier Festival in the Salle des Combins, Switzerland on 6 August 2016. The entire performance is available to watch via ...

  • pine

    Violinist Rachel Barton Pine performs Ozzy Osbourne's Crazy Train


    Violinist Rachel Barton Pine performs her own solo arrangement of Ozzy Osbourne's 'Crazy Train', the first single from the Black Sabbath frontman's debut solo album, released in 1980. Read: 10 pieces of advice for performers by violinist Rachel Barton Pine Watch: violinist Rachel Barton Pine ...

  • weilerstein

    Alisa Weilerstein rehearses Dvorák's Cello Concerto


    Cellist Alisa Weilerstein rehearses the first movement of Dvorák's Cello Concerto with Orchestre de Paris conducted by Emmanuel Krivine for a performance which took place on 13 May 2015 at the Paris Philharmonie. Watch: Cellist Alisa Weilerstein on memorising music Watch: Alisa Weilerstein performs ...

  • repin

    Violinist Vadim Repin performs Sofia Gubaidulina's Offertorium


    Violinist Vadim Repin performs Sofia Gubaidulina's Offertorium concerto for violin and orchestra ( 1980) with the State Academic Symphony Orchestra 'Evgeny Svetlanov' under the baton of Vladimir Jurowski. The performance took place at the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow on 30 May 2016. Read: 6 ...

  • hahn

    Hilary Hahn performs Gigue from Bach Solo Violin Partita no.3


    Violinist Hilary Hahn performs the Gigue from Bach's Solo Partita no. 3 as an encore. The violinist often finishes concerts with the work, as she did following a performance of Bruch’s First Violin Concerto with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony in December 2016 . Read: violinist ...

  • batiashvili

    Lisa Batiashvili rehearses Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto


    Violinist Lisa Batiashvili rehearses the fourth movement of Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto with Orchestre de Paris conducted by Paavo Järvi for performances on the 20 and 21 January 2016. Read: 5 pieces of advice for playing Bach by violinist Lisa Batiashvili Watch: Lisa Batiashvili ...

  • Capuçon

    Renaud Capuçon rehearses Beethoven's Violin Concerto 2017


    Violinist Renaud Capuçon rehearses Beethoven's Violin Concerto with Orchestre de Paris conducted by Daniel Harding for performances which took place on 25 and 26 January 2017 at the Paris Philharmonie. Watch: Renaud Capuçon plays the Guarneri ‘del Gesù’ ‘Panette’ violin, 1737 Watch: Capuçon brothers – ...

  • benedetti

    Violinist Nicola Benedetti on the physicality of playing


    Understanding how much natural weight there is in the body, and how much you can and should use to play an instrument as delicate as the violin is so important' Violinist Nicola Benedetti speaks about the physicality of playing ahead of the Nicola Benedetti Strings ...

  • Salò

    Owen Lee plays 420-year-old Gasparo Da Salò double bass


    Cincinnati Symphony principal bass Owen Lee demonstrates one of the world's oldest double basses, crafted by Gasparo Da Salò in Brescia, Italy c. 1590. Filmed at the Cincinnati Bass Cellar on July 10, 2016, the video features the opening of Koussevitzky's Concerto, the Prelude from Bach's First ...

  • Schumann Vogler

    In Search of Original Sound - Schumann: Cello Concerto in A minor op.129; Symphony no.2 in C major op.61


    The Strad Issue: February 2017 Description: Vogler goes gut in a revealing reading of Schumann's Cello Concerto Musicians: Jan Vogler (cello) Dresden Festival Orchestra/Ivor Bolton Composer: Schumann Catalogue number: SONY CLASSICAL 88985 37212-2 Last year the cellist Jan Vogler, ...

  • Schulhoff Monteiro

    Schulhoff: Violin Sonatas nos.1 & 2; Suite; Solo Violin Sonata


    Description: Monteiro's complete Schulhoff feels like a wasted opportunity Musicians: Bruno Monteiro (violin), JoÁo Paulo Santos (piano) Composer: Schulhoff Catalogue number: BRILLIANT CLASSICS 95324 First the complete Szymanowski, now Schulhoff: Bruno Monteiro is to be commended on his choice of repertoire. Unfortunately ...

  • bell

    Violinist Joshua Bell launches Virtual Reality Experience


    'You know how it is seeing yourself in the mirror - well this is worse!' - Joshua Bell US violinist Joshua Bell teamed with Sony Interactive Entertainment to launch the Joshua Bell VR Experience this week. The artist recorded Brahms's Hungarian Dance no.1 with pianist ...

  • Saariaho Meta4

    Saariaho: Chamber Works for Strings vol.2


    The Strad Issue: February 2017 Description: Finnish musicians continue their survey of Saariaho's quartet works Musicians: Meta4, Pia Freund (soprano) Composer: Kaija Saariaho Catalogue number: ONDINE ODE 1242-2 Meta4’s second instalment of quartet works by Kaija Saariaho sees the Finnish composer ...