Juror Zakhar Bron has, however, expressed his dissatisfaction with the results to a Polish radio station


Veriko Tchumburidze has been named the winner of the 15th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition in PoznaŠ„, Poland. The 20-year-old musician from Georgia/Turkey - a former winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians - receives the top prize of €30,000 following her performance of Wieniawski's Second Violin Concerto and Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto in the competition final.

Second prize is shared between 25-year-old Bomsori Kim from South Korea and 22-year-old Seiji Okamoto from Japan, who each receive €20,000.

Fourth and fifth prizes, each worth €10,000, go to 26-year-old Luke Hsu from the United States and 25-year-old Richard Lin from Taiwan/United States respectively, while sixth and seventh prizes, each worth €5,000, go to 25-year-old Maria WŠ‚oszczowska from Poland and 21-year-old Ryosuke Suho from Japan.

This year's results have been marred somewhat by jury member Zakhar Bron, who has taken to a Polish radio station to express his opinion that 'many of the decisions by the jury were mistaken'. The violinist continues: 'Two, maybe three, of the finalists are very good musicians, but the remainder should not have made it to that stage in the competition.'

The 2016 jury was chaired by violinist Maxim Vengerov, who attended all preliminary selection rounds, while Krzysztof Penderecki was honorary chair. The remaining jurors were Alena Baeva, Zakhar Bron, Bartosz BryŠ‚a, Ilya Gringolts, Dong-Suk Kang, Konstanty Andrzej Kulka, Marios Papadopoulos (Stage 4), Mayumi Seiler, Kyoko Takezawa, Akiko Tatsumi (Stage 4), Vera Tsu and Peter Zazofsky.

Previous prize winners include Ginette Neveu, David Oistrakh, Boris Goldstein, Ida Haendel and Igor Oistrakh.

For full details visit the Wieniawski Violin Competition website.

Read: 15th International Wieniawski Violin Competition announces 52 candidates

Read: 2016 International Wieniawski Violin Competition names 13 semi-finalists

Read: 2016 International Wieniawski Violin Competition names 7 finalists