Violinists Njioma Grevious and Hana Chang will receive joint management with CAG and YCAT as the grand prize winners


Read more news articles here

Following the 2023 Concert Artists Guild (CAG) Elmaleh Competition and the Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT) final auditions, CAG has announced violinists Njioma Grevious and Hana Chang as this year’s grand prize winners, who will receive joint management with CAG and YCAT as part of the partnership between the two organisations. 

The partnership between CAG and YCAT was founded in 2019 and opens up transatlantic performance opportunities for young musicians. It enables them to navigate and connect with cultural markets on both sides of the Atlantic, while providing the necessary resources for long-term career sustainability.

The grand prize winners will also perform at New York’s Merkin Hall and London’s Wigmore Hall, as well as participate in the Citizen Musician outreach scheme.

’We are so excited to have Hana join the CAG-YCAT family,’ said CAG president Tanya Bannister. ’This collaboration is critically important to give international exposure and real dynamic mentorship to musicians on both sides of the Atlantic. We cannot wait to work with and share Hana’s talent in the Americas.’

YCAT chief executive and artistic director Alasdair Tait added: ’We are so excited about welcoming Njioma to the YCAT family and looking forward to introducing her to audiences both in the UK and across Europe over the coming few years.’

Grevious is a graduate of the Juilliard School and winner of the Robert F. Smith First Prize and the Audience Choice awards in the Senior Division of the Sphinx Competition and First Prizes for Performance and Interpretation in the 2018 Prix Ravel in Fontainebleau, France. She is a founding member of the Abeo Quartet, which has also been named as a winner of the 2023 Elmaleh Competition.

Chang is a laureate of multiple competitions. She was a finalist in the16th Henryk Wieniawski International Violin Competition, won the Stradivarius International Violin Competition and received prizes at the Menuhin International Competition, Louis Spohr International Competition, Beethoven Hradec International Violin Competition, Prague Spring International Violin Competition, and the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition.

The complete list of winners of the Elmaleh Competition, who will join the CAG roster for management, perform a debut New York recital and participate in Citizen Musician, are as follows:

Nina Bernat, double bass

Njioma Grevious, violin

Nathan Meltzer, violin

Abeo Quartet

Bestfriends Duo, violin and guitar duo

Dior Quartet

Best of Technique

In The Best of Technique you’ll discover the top playing tips of the world’s leading string players and teachers. It’s packed full of exercises for students, plus examples from the standard repertoire to show you how to integrate the technique into your playing.


The Strad’s Masterclass series brings together the finest string players with some of the greatest string works ever written. Always one of our most popular sections, Masterclass has been an invaluable aid to aspiring soloists, chamber musicians and string teachers since the 1990s.


This year’s calendar celebrates the top instruments played by members of the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony, Australian String Quartet and some of the country’s greatest soloists.