14 artists were selected to receive a total of $100,000 to address each recipient’s creative ambitions

sphinx mpower alumni

The Sphinx Organization has announced 14 recipients for this year’s MPower Artist Grants.

The MPower Artist Grants are  scholarships designed to empower various alumni of the Sphinx Organization, including the Sphinx Competition, Sphinx Symphony, Sphinx Virtuosi, Sphinx Performance Academy, Sphinx Medals of Excellence, Sphinx LEAD, and EXIGENCE to achieve their career objectives in classical music.

The primary purpose of MPower Artist Grants is to empower artists’ careers, with competitive applications requiring illustration of grant impact.  A total of $100,000 was awarded among the recipients, with individual grants between $2200 and $15,000.

The recipients are:

Maia Aramburú

Maureen Conlon-Gutierrez

Austin Cruz

Karla Donehew Perez

David Jackson

Francisco Joubert Bernard

Alex Laing

Will Liverman

Jannina Norpoth

Cyrano Jett Rosentrater

Simone Seales

Valeria Serrano

Kenneth Thompkins

Dr. Ciyadh Wells

Full details of the recipients’ grants and projects can be found here.

The Sphinx Organization is a social justice organisation dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts.

Focused on increasing representation of Black and Latinx artists in classical music and recognising excellence, Sphinx programmes serve beginner students to seasoned classical music professionals, as well as cultural entrepreneurs and administrators.