Premiere of the Month: Elena Kats-Chernin on her new double concerto

Elena pc BruriaHammer

The Sarenka Concerto is in memory of an extraordinary woman

Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin’s Sarenka Concerto for violin, cello and orchestra honours the life of Sara Weis – nicknamed Sarenka by her family. As a child in Poland, Weis lost her family in the Holocaust. ‘She escaped as a 16-year-old and went into the resistance,’ says Kats-Chernin. Years afterwards Weis moved to Melbourne, where she and her husband set up a successful pantyhose business and raised a family, members of which came to Kats-Chernin to commission the work. Violinist Dale Barltrop and cellist Rachael Tobin will perform alongside the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.