The violinist triumphed following a performance of Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto at the finals in Hannover, Germany


Sergei Dogadin has been named the winner of the 2015 Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover following his performance of Shostakovich's First Violin Concerto. The 27-year-old Russian, who won first prize the Paganini International Violin Competition in 2005 and second prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2011, receives a cash prize of €50,000, a CD production with Naxos, and concerts with internationally renowned orchestras and ensembles.

The result was announced this evening at the conclusion of two days of finals in which the six remaining competitors each performed a substantial concerto with the NDR Radiophilharmonie conducted by Hendrick Vestmann.

Second prize, worth €30,000 goes to 26-year-old Shion Minami from Japan for her performance of Korngold's Concerto, while third prize, worth €20,000 goes to 24-year-old Richard Lin  from Taiwan, who also performed the Korngold. Fourth, fifth and sixth prizes, each worth €8,000, go to Benjamin Marquise Gilmore from the Netherlands, Ayana Tsuji from Japan and Amalia Hall from New Zealand respectively.

Sitting on this year’s jury were Italian violinist Salvatore Accardo, Russian violinist Boris Kuschnir, Dutch violinist Rudolf Koelman, Romanian violinist Silvia Marcovici, American violinist Lucie Robert, Finnish violinist Kaija Saarikettu, Japanese violinist Takashi Shimizu, Chinese violinist Weidong Tong, and German violinist Ingolf Turban.

Launched in 1991, the Joseph Joachim Competition takes place every three years in Hannover, central Germany. Violinists between the ages of 16 and 27 are invited to compete in five competition rounds for a total of €140,000 in monetary prizes.

In 2012, for the first time the top award was presented to two violinists: Moldovan Alexandra Conunova, most recently joint bronze medallist at the International Tchaikovsky Competition; and South Korea’s Dami Kim, a finalist at Indianapolis in 2014.

See a full list of the original 39 candidates for 2015.

For full details visit the Joseph Joachim Competition website.