A number of the candidates are prize winners from other international competitions


The Queen Elisabeth Competition in Belgium – which this year is devoted to violin – has announced the names of the 24 candidates who will progress to the semi-final rounds, taking place this week. Each violinist will perform a 40-minute recital and a Mozart concerto with the Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, conducted by Paul Meyer.

Among the semi-finalists are several familiar performers – including 2014 Menuhin Competition Senior Division winner Stephen Waarts, 2012 Menuhin Competition Senior Division winner Kenneth Renshaw, 2013 David Oistrakh Interntional Violin Competition Senior Division winner and 2015 Windsor String Competition winner Ji-Yoon Lee (pictured),  and 2012 Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover finalist Bomsori Kim.

Chaired by Arie Van Lysebeth, the 2015 jury comprises Pierre Amoyal , Patrice Fontanarosa, Daniel Hope, Nai-Yuan Hu, Dong-Suk Kang, Nam Yun Kim, Mihaela Martin, Midori, Natalia Prischepenko, Marco Rizzi, Akiko Suwanai and Gilbert Varga.

The 2015 first laureate will receive a prize of €25,000 and the loan of the ‘Huggins’ Stradivarius violin by the Nippon Music Foundation for a period of four years.

The 24 semi-finalists are:

Tobias Feldmann, Germany

Kristi Gjezi, France

William Hagen, United States

Suyeon Kang, Australia

Bomsori Kim, South Korea

Ji-Yoon Lee, South Korea

Ji Young Lim, South Korea

Vladyslava Luchenko, Ukraine

Michiru Matsuyama, Japan

Fumika Mohri, Japan

Solenne Païdassi, France

Rosanne Philippens, Holland

Thomas Reif, Germany

Kenneth Renshaw, United States

Oleksii Semenenko, Ukraine

Brendan Shea, United States

Ji Won Song, South Korea

Elly Suh, United States

George Tudorache, Romania

Stephen Waarts, United States/Holland

Xiao Wang, China

William Ching†Yi Wei, Taiwan

Momo Wong, Japan/United States

Yoon Yang, South Korea

The Queen Elisabeth Competition has helped to launch the careers of a number of outstanding violinists, including David Oistrakh in 1937, Jamie Laredo in 1959, Miriam Fried in 1971, Vadim Repin in 1989, Nikolaj Znaider in 1997 and Ray Chen in 2009. 2012’s winner was Russian violinist Andrey Baranov .

For further information visit the Competition website.

Photo: Windsor Competition/Gill Aspell

Subscribe to The Strad or download our digital edition as part of a 30-day free trial. To purchase single issues click here.