‘I had to give ten encores in succession’: From the archive: March 1903

Marie Hall

Violinist Marie Hall, then just 18 years of age, talks to The Strad about studying with Otakar Ševčík and her burgeoning international career

Miss Hall waxes enthusiastic as she speaks of her work in the Bohemian capital. “Oh, Sevcik is undoubtedly the greatest teacher living, and I want everyone to know how much I owe to him.”

I remark that the young artist must have been talented to have accomplished in so short a time what Kubelik and Kocian spent years in achieving.

“Well, Professor Sevcik said that he had never had a pupil who worked so quickly, but I worked hard – ten hours a day. During my study time I played at eight concerts in Prague and was always well received, and after my performance of Ernst’s Concerto at the final concert of the Conservatorium received twenty-five recalls. My lesson lasted sometimes as long as four hours, but the professor is so kind and takes so much interest in his pupils that I enjoyed every minute of them. He is very strict with his pupils too, though now I consider him more as a friend than a master. His system is certainly unique.”…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.