Sol Gabetta performs Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto no.1 in A minor at the Nobel Prize concert, held on 8 December. She was accompanied by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Ryan Bancroft.

The full programme was as follows:

Wilhelm Stenhammar: Excelsior!

Camille Saint-Saëns: Cello Concerto no.1

Hannah Kendall: The Spark Catchers

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio espagnol

The Nobel Prize Concert is an annual concert that is part of a week-long celebration of the year’s Nobel Prize laureates. It is presented by Nobel Prize Outreach in cooperation with Konserthuset Stockholm

Read: ‘Teachers should adapt their methods to students’ individual techniques,’ says cellist Sol Gabetta

Watch: Sol Gabetta performs Elgar’s Cello Concerto at Proms 2016

Watch: The Cellist Sol Gabetta – DW Documentary