A Treasury of Sound


The Royal Danish Orchestra has been adding to its collection of fine stringed instruments for centuries – but there is revolution as well as evolution behind its distinctive string sound, which is unmistakable whatever the repertoire and whoever the conductor, finds Andrew Mellor

There is a sport among Copenhagen’s music critics. It involves attempting to define the distinct playing style and sound culture of the Royal Danish Orchestra while speculating as to how much those things are connected to the ensemble’s age. With a playing history dating back to 1448, this is the oldest orchestral institution in the world.

Det Kongelige Kapel (‘The Royal Chapel’), as it is known locally, is the house ensemble for the Royal Danish Opera but also gives symphonic concerts throughout the season at Copenhagen’s modern opera house. The ensemble has counted great composers among its members (Dowland and Nielsen) and has worked with a string of iconic conductors: Bernstein, Boulez, Furtwängler, Karajan, Klemperer, Knappertsbusch, Kubelík, Ormandy, Schoenberg, Stravinsky, Rattle and Walter, to name just a few.

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.