The German piano trio received the award at a ceremony on 29 March 


Photo: Daniel Reinhardt

Trio E.T.A. with Berenberg Bank head Hans-Walter Peters

The Hamburg-based ‘Trio E.T.A.’ has received the 2023 Berenberg Culture Prize, worth €12,000. Formed in 2019, the ensemble is made up of violinist Elene Meipariani, cellist Till Schuler and pianist Till Hoffmann. In a statement from the Berenberg Bank Foundation, which administers the award, board member Jan Philipp Sprick said that the trio ‘convinces the audience with its virtuoso interactions, subtle design of chamber music tones, and intelligent interpretations. The award ceremony took place at the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie on 29 March.

In 2022, Trio E.T.A. received the Walbusch Prize from Jeunesses Musicales Germany. The ensemble’s debut CD, featuring works by Joseph Haydn, Bedrich Smetana and Roman Pawollek was released in February 2023. This year will also see the trio premiere a work by the composer Isabel Mundry.

Every year since 1990, the Berenberg Bank Foundation has awarded the Berenberg Culture Prize to young artists working or studying in Hamburg. It also promotes the training of artists by awarding grants and project funding. According to the statement, the foundation has so far given more than €1 million to benefit young cultural talent.

Best of Technique

In The Best of Technique you’ll discover the top playing tips of the world’s leading string players and teachers. It’s packed full of exercises for students, plus examples from the standard repertoire to show you how to integrate the technique into your playing.


The Strad’s Masterclass series brings together the finest string players with some of the greatest string works ever written. Always one of our most popular sections, Masterclass has been an invaluable aid to aspiring soloists, chamber musicians and string teachers since the 1990s.


This year’s calendar celebrates the top instruments played by members of the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony, Australian String Quartet and some of the country’s greatest soloists.