The Texas-based quartet will present their series from 16 July to 8 August

Miro Quartet

Miró Quartet (clockwise from left to right): Daniel Ching, Joshua Gindele, William Fedkenheuer and John Largess

The Miró Quartet is to come together in person to perform all sixteen Beethoven string quartets and the Grosse Fuge live for online audiences. Their 12-evening, subscription-based concert series is scheduled for 16 July to 8 August at 5:30 pm PT.

The members of the American ensemble have been apart since mid-March, isolating separately at home. For this concert series, broadcast via the streaming platform, they will follow strict protocols in their daily lives to mitigate the risk of virus transmission.

Read: West Cork Music to run virtual festival this summer

Read: Top 11 places to find string music concerts online

Read: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center announces postponement of its scheduled autumn 2020 season

Read: How to record chamber music in lockdown

Following each livestream, the performance will remain online for on-demand viewing for 24 hours for ticket holders. The complete cycle will then be broadcast live from a private performance space modelled after Tuscan architecture in the Quartet’s home city of Austin, Texas, and the video feed will be professionally produced in real time, with multiple camera angles and high-quality sound.

The cycle takes the place of both the originally planned, in-person Miró Quartet performances this month on Orcas Island in Washington State, and the planned annual August Festival. The new series is also intended as a celebration of Beethoven’s 250th birthday.

See below for a complete schedule of webcasts:

  • Thursday, July 16


    String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18, No. 3

    String Quartet No. 2 in G major, Op. 18, No. 2

  • Friday, July 17


    String Quartet No. 5 in A major, Op. 18, No. 5

    String Quartet No. 1 in F major, Op. 18, No. 1

  • Saturday, July 18


    String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18, No. 4

    String Quartet No. 6 in B-flat major, Op. 18, No. 6

  • Thursday, July 23


    String Quartet No. 7 in F major, Op. 59, No. 1

  • Friday, July 24


    String Quartet No. 8 in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2

  • Saturday, July 25


    String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59, No. 3

  • Thursday, July 30


    String Quartet No. 10 in E-flat major, Op. 74 (“Harp”)

    String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 (“Serioso”)

  • Friday, July 31


    String Quartet No. 12 in E-flat major, Op. 127

  • Saturday, August 1


    String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132

  • Thursday, August 6


    String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130

    Grosse Fuge in B-flat major, Op. 133

  • Friday, August 7


    String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131

  • Saturday, August 8


    String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135

    String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130: VI. Finale: Allegro (alternate finale)

Tickets are available via beginning Thursday, June 25 at 10:00 a.m. PT and priced $20 for individual concerts, $90 for tickets to six of the concerts, and $120 for access to the complete series, which includes an additional ’OICMF Encore Evening’ on 14 August.