Masterclass: Fauré Violin Sonata no.1 in A major, first movement

Fenella Humphreys 2 - ©Alejandro Tamagno

Violinist Fenella Humphreys discovers the intricate patterns that make up a work full of colour and contrast, and how their interplay shapes performance

Discover more Masterclasses like this in The Strad Playing Hub.

Read more premium content for subscribers here

When people talk about the great composers, too often Fauré is not on the list. He faced negative bias at the beginning of his professional life when people were much more likely to buy and listen to music by German composers. But with the publication and performance of this sonata and the First Piano Quartet, his career blossomed. Saint-Saëns was unstinting in his praise of this work after its premiere in Paris in 1877, writing: ‘This Sonata has everything that will seduce the gourmet: novel forms, exquisite modulations, uncommon tone colours, the use of the most unexpected rhythms, and hovering above all this is a magic that envelops the whole work and brings the masses of ordinary listeners to accept the wildest audacities as something perfectly natural.’…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.