This year's annual awards, given by the German music industry, take place on 26 October


The winners of the 2014 Echo Klassik awards have been announced, with a number of accolades going to string players. Chosen by the German music industry association, the annual awards honour national and international artists in 22 categories. This year’s award ceremony will be held on 26 October in Munich’s Gasteig, and broadcast ZDF television.

Among those recognised in 2014 are violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter (pictured), who receives 19th Century Music Concert Recording of the Year for her collaboration with the Berlin Philharmonic and conductor Manfred Honeck on Dvo?ák’s Violin Concerto for Deutsche Grammophon.

Also honoured as Cello Instrumentalist of the Year is Jan Vogler, for his recording of Bach’s Solo Cello Suites on Sony Classical, while Tabea Zimmermann is named Viola Instrumentalist of the Year and Frank Peter Zimmermann receives Violin Instrumentalist of the Year, each for Hindemith recordings.

There are also accolades for Trio Imàge, who receive World Premiere Recording of the Year for their album of Kagel Piano Trios on Avi-Music, and for violinist David Garrett, whose 'Garret vs Paganini' album on Decca is named Bestseller of the Year.

For a full list of winners, visit

Photo: Harald Hoffmann / DG

Subscribe to The Strad or download our digital edition as part of a 30-day free trial. To purchase single issues click here.