When Strauss first began working on the work in 1944, it was for seven strings though he later expanded it to 23 for the version which was completed in 1945.

This septet arrangement was created by Rudolf Leopold in 1996 based on a short score by Strauss and the final version. 


  • Noah Bendix-Balgley, violin 1
  • Itamar Zorman, violin 2
  • Yura Lee, viola 1
  • Teng Li, viola 2
  • Julie Albers, cello 1
  • Timotheos Petrin, cello 2
  • Nathan Farrington, bass

Video Production: Erica Brenner Productions, LLC

Audio Engineer: Ian Dobie, Dobie Digital Productions