Led by president Nikolaj Znaider, the contest takes place from 16-22 April in Denmark


The Carl Nielsen International Violin Competition has named the three contestants selected to perform in the Finals, to be held over two nights on Thursday and Friday at the Odense Concert Hall in Denmark. Each violinist will perform the Nielsen Violin Concerto in addition to another Romantic concerto of their choice with the Odense Symphony Orchestra.

The three violinists, whittled down from 23 contestants aged between 17 and 29, are:

Luke Hsu, 25, USA

Ji Yoon Lee, 23, South Korea

Liya Petrova, 25, Bulgaria (pictured)

The first prize winner will receive a cash award of €12,000, a CD recording with the Odense Symphony Orchestra on Orchid Records, and a minimum of ten concert appearances with top European orchestras.

This year’s jury, chaired by 2016 president and former Nielsen Competition winner Nikolaj Znaider, features violinist Corina Belcea, cellist Jian Wang, Berlin Philharmonic first concertmaster Noah Bendix-Balgley and Wigmore Hall director John Gilhooly.

Founded in 1980, the Nielsen Competition is held every four years and since 1997 and 1998, has incorporated clarinet and flute respectively. 2012’s violin winner was Russian competitor Olga Volkova.

For more information visit the Carl Nielsen International Competition website.

Read: 2016 Carl Nielsen International Violin Competition names 24 shortlisted candidates

Read: How to prepare for a competition, by Queen Elisabeth winning violinist Ji Young Lim