Ysaÿe's Six Sonatas for solo violin op.27


No less an authority than Carl Flesch considered Ysaÿe the ‘most outstanding and individual violinist I have heard in my life’. By his 30s, renowned composers were virtually falling over themselves to dedicate their latest works to him, including Debussy (String Quartet), Franck (Violin Sonata) and Chausson (Poème). Ysaÿe was ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

This article is exclusively available to members of The Strad community. 
JOIN HERE FOR FREE. Already a member, please SIGN IN.

Strad product montage

What you get:

  • Exclusive content including previews of the latest magazine articles
  • Access to our ever-growing library of features and resources
  • Our weekly newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad and The Strad Shop