Masterclass: Beethoven Grosse Fuge op.133 (part one)


Belcea Quartet violist Krzysztof Chorzelski guides us on a journey that requires courage from both listener and performer

Discover more Masterclasses  like this in The Strad Playing Hub

Read more premium content for subscribers here

Just as it generated controversy from its first performance, Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge  op.133 continues to confound and challenge. For all its rigour and formality, this is not a normal fugue. Usually the aim when playing a fugue is to bring out certain elements and make sure the texture is clear and understandable for the listener. To do that here would be contrary to the nature of this music, which is about being on the brink of coherence.

The beginning is similar to that of the finale of the ‘Hammerklavier’ Sonata. Beethoven sets out his ideas – the eight-note main fugue subject, trills, iambic rhythms and appoggiaturas laid out both in gentle melody and in the disjointed countersubject – as if he were a child pyromaniac diligently preparing all the elements and then, on the word Fuga, lighting a match and beginning a long, merciless journey towards destruction…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.