European violin makers dominate prize board at Mittenwald competition

The winners of the sixth Mittenwald International Violin Making Competition have been announced. The leading maker in the violin category was Haiko Seifert from Germany, although no first prize was awarded, so he took second place. The viola first place went to French maker Philippe Mahu. ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

Register for FREE or Sign in to continue reading this article

Strad product montage

By registering you get:

  • Selected articles from the current issue of The Strad every month
  • Access to our ever-growing archive of features from past issues of The Strad
  • Our weekly e-newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles 
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad