Brahms: String Quintets in F major op.88 & G major op.111


Brahms was pleased with his F major Quintet and Daniel Gregory Mason enthuses about it in his book on the composer’s chamber music; but in my experience, it takes a really special performance to bring it off. The Nash players produce some lovely sounds and some gorgeous phrases, but the ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

Register for FREE or Sign in to continue reading this article

Strad product montage

By registering you get:

  • Selected articles from the current issue of The Strad every month
  • Access to our ever-growing archive of features from past issues of The Strad
  • Our weekly e-newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles 
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad