Winners were selected on the basis of YouTube recordings

Screenshot 2020-07-07 13.45.19

Violinist Chitoyo Shinozaki playing Chopin’s Nocturne No.20

The Leonid Kogan International Competition for Young Violinists, which is running partially online due to the coronavirus pandemic, has announced the winners of its first two categories - selected on the basis of YouTube recordings.

In its 1st category (for violinists aged 9 and under), there was a first prize tie between two Japanese violinists: 9-year-old Chitoyo Shinozaki and 8-year-old Miu Hirokawa. Second prize went to nine-year-old Valentina-Maria Schwinge from Germany, while third prize was awarded jointly to 8-year-old Korean violinist Tae-Kyum Jefferson Kang and seven-year-old Russian violinist Aleksandr Kolesnikov. 

In the second category (for violinists aged 13 and under), first prize went to the 13-year-old French-South Korean violinist Léo Couralet. Second prize was awarded jointly to the 11-year-old Anton Carus from the USA, and to 12-year-old Marika Konishi from Japan. Third prize went to 13-year-old Japanese violinist Ann Sakimoto.

Read: Leonid Kogan International Competition for Young Violinists to take place online and in person

All winners will be invited to perform at the Gala Concert in Brussels on the 30 October.

The 3rd (aged 17 and under) and 4th (aged 23 and under) categories are scheduled to take place in person in Brussels between 24-30 October, with an application deadline of 10 October. 

The cut-off date for age limits across all categories will be moved to 31 December 2020.

For more information, visit:

See below for the YouTube videos of individual performances from the competition

Chitoyo Shinozaki plays Chopin’s Nocturne No.20 arranged by Nathan Milstein

Miu Hirokawa plays 1st movement of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No.5

Léo Couralet plays Kreisler’s Tambourin Chinois, Op.3

Anton Carus plays Wieniawski’s Polonaise Brillante, Op.21

Marika Konishi plays Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy, Op.25

Ann Sakimoto plays the third movement of Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor