Masterclass: Leonidas Kavakos on Brahms Violin Concerto, first movement

kavakos image

Musical imagination, measured vibrato and a sense of thematic continuity are all essential to playing this celebrated work. From June 2014

This is a really symphonic piece. The violin part is the principal voice and has the main role, but the structure makes it totally symphonic. For instance in the first and second movements practically all the ideas, themes, motifs and moods have already been presented before the solo violin comes in. Rather than introducing the environment, the soloist is just joining it. This is the opposite of the Tchaikovsky, Mendelssohn, Bartók, Berg and Sibelius concertos, and to me is proof that it is a symphonic work. 

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.