Masterclass: Brahms Scherzo for violin and piano

Johannes-Fleischmann-6 pc Tommaso Tuzj

In this single-movement sonata, Johannes Fleischmann explores the expressive and mature writing of a young composer who had already been hailed as the future of music

The genesis of this work is a well-known story. In Düsseldorf in 1853, Robert Schumann enlisted the help of two up-and-coming composers, Albert Dietrich and Johannes Brahms, to write a sonata for his friend, the great violinist Joseph Joachim. It was to be presented to him after a concert on his return to the city as a surprise gift. All four movements (by the three composers) are linked using the initials of Joachim’s motto, ‘Frei Aber Einsam’, as a musical motif, and on the first play-through it was up to Joachim to discern who had written which movement…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.