This year’s inaugural contest, which took place at Lynn Conservatory of Music in Florida, offered a grand prize of $30,000, performance opportunities and public relations support


The inaugural Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition (EOIVC), which concluded at Florida’s Lynn Conservatory of Music on Sunday, has published its juror scores for all three live rounds.

In the final, $30,000 first prize winner Sirena Huang (pictured) topped the rankings of six of the seven judges, achieving a maximum of 100 points from both jury chair Daniel Heifetz and Alexander Gilman.


Huang was also the top ranked competitor in the Semi-Final Round 2, with the highest scores from four of the seven judges.

In the Semi-Final Round 1, Huang was the second ranked violinist after first ranked competitor Hannah Tarley, who eventually received third prize overall, worth $10,000. 19-year-old Alina Ming Kobialka, who won the competition's second prize, worth $15,000, was ranked third in the Semi-Final Round 1 and fourth in the Semi-Fianl Round 2.


The EOIVC Finals, held on 4 and 5 February at the Wold Performing Arts Center, featured four finalists in a performance of either the Tchaikovsky or the Sibelius violin concertos with the Lynn Philharmonia conducted by music director Guillermo Figueroa.  Huang was the only contestant to select the Tchaikovsky.

Winner of the First Prize Gold Medal of the Sixth International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians, Huang was awarded third prize at the 2015 Singapore International Violin Competition and third prize at the 2016 Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition. In addition to the $30,000 cash award for her Oliveira win, she receives public relations and artist management support, and performances with several orchestras and festivals.

Established by 1978 Tchaikovsky Competition Gold Medal-winning violinist Elmar Oliveira and open to violinists aged 16-32, the EOIVC is to be held every three years with the aim of providing ‘long-term career development tools’ designed to ‘cultivate and nurture developing musicians’.

The 2017 judges were Andrés Cárdenes, Charles Castleman, Alexander Gilman, Gudny Gudmundsdottir, Daniel Heifetz (Chairman of the Jury), Ilya Kaler and Vera Tsu Wei-ling.