The participants from 14 countries will perform in nine live rounds in January 2015


Singapore's inaugural International Violin Competition (SIVC) has announced the 35 entrants who will perform in nine live rounds in January 2015. The contest, which offers a first prize of US$50,000, received 148 applications from 27 countries, including China, the USA, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Australia, Russia, Canada and a number of European destinations.

The 35 selected candidates from 14 countries will perform a range of repertoire, including kilo<byte>, a commissioned work by Singaporean composer Emily Koh. In addition to the cash sum, the competition winner will also receive a recording produced and distributed globally by Naxos, international performance opportunities and access to a three-year instrument loan from the collection of fine rare instruments of Mr and Mrs Rin Kei Mei.

‘The quality of the violinists who applied for the competition was outstanding and it was really difficult to select the candidates,’ said jury chair Qian Zhou. ‘We have a wonderful group of 35 candidates from around the world coming to Singapore to showcase their extraordinary talent to be appreciated and enjoyed by the Singapore community.’

The SIVC live rounds take place between 10 and 21 January 2015, hosted by the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (pictured). The jury includes French violinist Pierre Amoyal and Vermeer Quartet founder Shmuel Ashkenasi.

The shortlisted candidates are:

Elina BUKSHA, Latvia

Yu-Ting CHEN, Taiwan

Timothy CHOOI, Canada

Alexandra CONUNOVA, Moldova

Tianyang GAO, China

William HAGEN, USA

Shucong HE, China

Ui-Youn HONG, South Korea


Petteri LIVONEN, Finland


Karen KIDO, Japan

Bomsori KIM, South Korea

Chisa KITAGAWA, Japan

Eunae KOH, South Korea

Oleksandr KORNIEV, Ukraine

Ryota KURATOMI, Japan

Ji Yoon LEE, South Korea

Youjin LEE, South Korea

JiEun Anna LEE, South Korea

HyunJae LIM, South Korea

Richard LIN, Taiwan

Jun Hong LOH, Singapore

Boson MO, Canada

Yu Ah OK, South Korea

Lijia PHANG, Singapore

Fedor RUDIN France

Christopher SCHERER, USA

Ian Ike SEE, Singapore

Lukas STEPP, Germany


Yun TANG, China

Yu-Chien TSENG, Taiwan

Yat Sze WONG, Hong Kong

Yuqing ZHANG, China

For full competition details, visit

Subscribe to The Strad or download our digital edition as part of a 30-day free trial. To purchase single issues click here.