Discover more episodes of The Strad Podcast here

Alisa Weilerstein is embarking on a multi-year project called Fragments – comprising all 36 movements of Bach’s solo cello suites, interweaved with new commissions from 27 diverse composers. Alisa speaks to online editor Davina Shum about how this project came about, how a combination of theatrical elements come together to provide a unique musical experience, and why it’s good to jump into seemingly daunting projects with both feet.

Fragments 1&2 will premiere in Toronto on 28 January. Alisa will perform Fragments 2 in Irvine, CA (12 March) and Fragments 1 in Santa Barbara, CA (10 March), La Jolla, CA (14 March) and at New York’s Carnegie Hall (1 April).


Suite for Solo Cello no.2 in D minor - Bach

Alisa Weilerstein, cello


Photo credit: Marco Borggreve

Read opinion 1