Twelve musicians in each category will give hour-long recitals before six are chosen for the concerto finals

Anastasia Kobekina c.Evgeny Evtyukhov

Cello competitor Anastasia Kobekina
Photo ©Evgeny Evtyukhov

The 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition, taking place in Moscow and St Petersburg, has reached its semi-final stages.

Held every four years and now in it’s 16th edition, the competition is open to pianists, violinists, cellists, woodwind and brass players between 16 and 32 years of age, and singers between 19 and 32 years of age. 

First prize winners in each instrument category will be awarded $30,000 each and of these one Grand Prix recipient will be awarded an additional $100,000.

Twenty-three contestants took part in the first round of the violin category, held from 18 to 20 June in the Chamber Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. The twelve semi-finalists are:

  • Chisa Kitagawa (Japan)
  • Ravil Islyamov (Russia)
  • Mayumi Kanagawa (USA)
  • Marc Bouchkov (Belgium)
  • Aylen Pritchin (Russia)
  • Anna Savkina (Russia)
  • Leonid Zheleznyi (Russia)
  • Albrecht Menzel (Germany)
  • Lara Boschkor (Germany)
  • Milan Al-Ashhab (Czech Republic)
  • Donghyun Kim (Korea)
  • Sergey Dogadin (Russia)

The violin jury consists of: Martin Engstroem (chair), Salvatore Accardo, Kristóf Baráti, Mikhail Kopelman, Sergej Krylov, Boris Kuschnir, Elmar Oliveira, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Akiko Suwanai, Viktor Tretiakov, Michael Haefliger, Aleksey Shalashov.

Twenty-five contestants took part in the first round of the cello category, held from 18 to 20 June in the Chamber Hall of the Saint Petersburg Philharmonia. The twelve semi-finalists are:

  • Senja Elina Rummukainen (Finland)
  • Yibai Chen (China)
  • Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Colombia)
  • Anastasia Kobekina (Russia)
  • Ivan Sendetskii (Russia)
  • Haruma Sato (Japan)
  • Zlatomir Fung (USA)
  • Fedor Amosov (Russia)
  • Taeguk Mun (Republic of Korea)
  • Ivan Skanavi (Russia)
  • Jonathan Algot Swensen (Denmark)
  • Caspar Benedict Kloeckner (Germany)

The cello jury consists of: Sir Clive Gillinson (chair), Mario Brunello, Jian Wang, István Várdai, Karine Georgian, Ralph Kirshbaum, Mischa Maisky, Daniel Müller-Schott, Truls Mørk, Sergei Roldugin, Jan Vogler, Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi, Myung-Wha Chung.

This year’s entire edition is to be broadcast live via Medici TV at For full details visit the Tchaikovsky Competition website.