Launched by Professor Zakhar Bron, the event takes place from 22 to 31 January 2015


The inaugural International Boris Goldstein Violin Competition has announced the 31 entrants who will perform in its live rounds in January 2015. Launched by Professor Zakhar Bron, teacher of such leading names as Vadim Repin and Maxim Vengerov, the competition honours the violinist’s former instructor, Boris Goldstein (pictured).

Taking place from 22 to 31 January 2015 in Bern, Switzerland, the event showcases talent from the US and Canada, Europe and Asia. First prize is a cash award of CHF15,000 (£9,800). Compulsory repertoire across two preliminary rounds includes unaccompanied Bach and selected Paganini Caprices, while the final features performances of a Mozart violin concerto and one of the larger Romantic concertos.

The jury is to include Zakhar Bron, Yair Kless, Igor Ozim, Viktor Pikayten and Ida Haendel.

The shortlisted candidates are:

Benjamin Baker, New Zealand / UK, 27.01.1990

Marie Bégin, Canada, 08.12.1991

Vlada Berazhnaya, Belarus, 23.12.1989

Yejin Byun, South Korea, 22.01.1990

Mizuki Chiba, Japan, 13.02.1996

Soo Jin Hannah Cho, South Korea, 07.09.1994

Maxime Gulikers, Netherlands, 14.04.1994

Victoria Gusachenko, Ukraine 24.12.1988

Mone Hattori, Japan, 14.09.1999

Ryan Howland, Canada, 03.04.1999

Alexander Kuznetsov, Russia, 31.05.1990

Joanna Lee, USA / South Korea, 13.09.1986

Furong Li, China, 14.07.1990

Sean Yongjoo Lim, USA, 31.05.1999

Petya Lundstrem, Russia, 27.04.1993

Sofija Nikoska, Macedonia, 16.04.1991

Kana Ohashi, Japan, 28.02.1993

Ami Oike, Japan, 16.08.1988

Marek Pavelec, Czech Republic, 10.09.1989

Alexander Read, Canada, 24.07.1987

Siena Sanchez-O'Brien, USA, 31.03.1992

Arsenis Selalmazidis, Greece / Russia, 19.06.1990

Aleksey Semenenko, Ukraine, 20.08.1988

Dmitry Serebrennikov, Russia, 13.05.1992

Stefan Tarara, Germany, 02.05.1986

Hannah Tarley, USA, 14.09.1991

Shiori Terauchi, Japan, 28.02.1990

Yuna Toki, Japan, 22.09.1994

Xin Wen, China, 03.04.1994

Takuya Yamamoto, Japan, 02.12.1987

Arata Yumi, Japan, 01.02.1992

For further details visit

Subscribe to The Strad or download our digital edition as part of a 30-day free trial. To purchase single issues click here.