Haydn: The Seven Last Words of Christ op.51


Haydn’s seven sober and imposingly spiritual ‘sonatas’, framed by a solemn introduction and dramatic epilogue, pose considerable interpretative problems, not least one of sustaining interest throughout. Haydn himself recognised these difficulties but persevered to fulfil the specific requirements of his commission for a musical commentary on the spoken drama of ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

Register for FREE or Sign in to continue reading this article

Strad product montage

By registering you get:

  • Selected articles from the current issue of The Strad every month
  • Access to our ever-growing archive of features from past issues of The Strad
  • Our weekly e-newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles 
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad