Double bassist Leon Bosch on the South African Strings Foundation


Double bassist Leon Bosch attended the South African String Foundation’s first in-person convention in Gqeberha

Although something of a well-kept secret, South Africa’s long tradition of excellent string teaching is expressed through a seemingly endless supply of exemplary South African musicians who occupy eminent positions in orchestras and ensembles around the world. Some of the musicians who have contributed to classical music in the UK include the violist Cecil Aronowitz (1916–78), a founder member of the Melos Ensemble; Peter Carter (b.1935), who led the Allegri Quartet; David Juritz (b.1957), previously leader of the London Mozart Players and the Maggini Quartet; Gina McCormack (b.1963), who led the Sorrell and Brodsky quartets; Pieter Schoeman (b.1969), who currently leads the London Philharmonic Orchestra; violist Louise Lansdown (b.1971), currently head of strings at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire; Rudi de Groote (b.1974), principal cello of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Gary Pomeroy (b.1982), violist of the Heath Quartet; and Zoë Beyers (b.1982), who leads both the BBC Philharmonic and the English Symphony Orchestra…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.