Volans and Saariaho string works win RPS Music Awards

Composers Kevin Volans and Kaija Saariaho were among the winners of the UK's Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards. Volans, who was born in South Africa, won the chamber-scale composition award for his piece viola:piano. Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho's Notes on Light, for cello and orchestra, won ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

Register for FREE or Sign in to continue reading this article

Strad product montage

By registering you get:

  • Selected articles from the current issue of The Strad every month
  • Access to our ever-growing archive of features from past issues of The Strad
  • Our weekly e-newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles 
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad