Onslow: Violin Sonatas op.16


George Onslow’s three op.16 sonatas were composed in 1819 with the somewhat curious designation for fortepiano and violin or viola or cello. They exploit pre-Romantic features characteristic of Hummel, displaying surprising harmonic ingenuity and originality of content, and treating each instrument with a sense of equality, even if the pianist ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

Register for FREE or Sign in to continue reading this article

Strad product montage

By registering you get:

  • Selected articles from the current issue of The Strad every month
  • Access to our ever-growing archive of features from past issues of The Strad
  • Our weekly e-newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles 
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad