Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition opening heats feature eight quartets and eight piano trios each playing twice over five days


The UK-based Gildas Quartet
©Ian Dingle

The Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition has returned for a 2018 edition, inviting eight string quartets and eight piano trios to the state capital of Victoria, Australia.

The first round of the competition is in two heats, with each group performing twice, covering 19th- and 20th-century repertoire, as well as one two specially commissioned works by Australian composers Holly Harrison and Paul Stanhope.

The groups taking part are:

  • Baum Quartett
  • Quatuor Agate
  • Idomeneo Quartet
  • Goldmund Quartet
  • Eliot Quartett
  • Callisto Quartet
  • Gildas Quartet
  • Thaleia Quartet
  • Trio Marvin
  • Mosa Trio
  • Trio Gaon
  • Amatis Piano Trio
  • Trio Sōra
  • Merz Trio
  • Clarendon Trio
  • Bukolika Piano Trio

The heats continue until Thursday 5 July, with semifinals on 6 July and the grand final on Sunday 8 July at the Melbourne Recital Centre.