49 cellists and 50 violinists have been selected to compete in the first round of the competition from 1 September 2024


Read more news stories here

The George Ensecu International Competition has announced its first-round candidates for cello, violin and piano, following a pre-selection phase. Among the 555 applicants who applied, a group of 149 musicians has been selected to compete in Bucharest, Romania, from 1 to 22 September 2024.

For the first stage of the cello competition, starting 1 September 2024 at the National University of Music in Bucharest, 49 competitors aged between 15 and 31 were selected from among 213 applicants. The selected cellists come from South Korea, China, the United States, Romania, Taiwan, Russia, Germany, France, Canada, Luxembourg, Austria, Italy, Spain, Japan, Sweden, Slovenia, and Hong Kong.

The Violin competition begins 7 September 2024 at the National University of Music in Bucharest. 50 competitors, aged between 14 and 31, were selected from a total of 192 applicants. They come from South Korea, China, the United States, Taiwan, Russia, Germany, France, South Africa, Poland, Ukraine, Canada, Austria, Italy, Belgium, Japan, Sweden, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

The contestants will perform for the chance to win the top prize of €15,000 in each discipline, as well as several special prizes.

The cello jury will be presided by David Geringas and will comprise Leonid Gorokhov, Meehae Ryo, Valentin Răduțiu, Marin Cazacu, Enrico Dindo, Arto Noras – joined in the semi-final and final rounds by Charlotte Lee and Raimund Trenkler

Dmitry Sitkovetsky will preside the violin jury, which will comprise Mihaela Martin, Liviu Prunaru, Silvia Marcovici, Shlomo Mintz, Boris Garlitsky, David Halen – joined in the semi-final and final rounds by Doug Sheldon and Didier de Cottignies.

The cello candidates are as follows:

  1. Eva Arderius (Spain)
  2. Seungyeon Baik (South Korea)
  3. Sara Čano (Slovenia)
  4. Hun Choi (South Korea)
  5. Jia-Hua Chu (Taiwan)
  6. Jizheng Fang (China)
  7. Serena Fantini (Italy)
  8. Maxime Grizard (Germany)
  9. Ilia Iashin (Russia)
  10. Annette Jakovcic (United States)
  11. Seyeon Jung (South Korea)
  12. Alexandra Kahrer (Austria)
  13. Seohyun Kang (South Korea)
  14. Haddon Kay (United States)
  15. Cyprien Keiser (Luxembourg)
  16. Sofya Khuskivadze (Russia)
  17. Dong Nyouk Kim (South Korea)
  18. Jaehyun Kim (South Korea)
  19. Yo Kitamura (Japan)
  20. Alex Lau (Hong Kong)
  21. Geunyup Lee (South Korea)
  22. Yuchan Lee (South Korea)
  23. Jae Seung Lee (South Korea)
  24. Jeri Lee (South Korea)
  25. Jiayi Liu (China)
  26. Álvaro Lozano Cames (Spain)
  27. Jiayi Lu (United States)
  28. Horatiu Ludusan (Romania)
  29. Jean-Baptiste Maizières (France)
  30. Chanheung Min (South Korea)
  31. Sarah Moser (Austria)
  32. Sho Nishida (Japan)
  33. Ettore Pagano (Italy)
  34. Vesper Park (South Korea)
  35. Florian Pons (France)
  36. Jan Sekaci (Romania)
  37. Michael Song (Canada)
  38. Vasily Stepanov (Russia)
  39. Yenah Sung (South Korea)
  40. Vladimir Todea (Sweden)
  41. Austin Topper (United States)
  42. Yung-Tzu Wang (Taiwan)
  43. Michael Wehrmeyer (Germany)
  44. Xuanhan Xu (China)
  45. Shun-Ming Yang (Taiwan)
  46. Sanga Yang (South Korea)
  47. Sul Yoon (South Korea)
  48. Ziyang Zhao (China)
  49. Cornelius Zirbo (Romania)


The violin candidates are as follows:

  1. Abouzahra Amira (Germany)
  2. Blekh Leon (Belgium)
  3. Brooks Jordan (South Africa)
  4. Darius Preuss (Germany)
  5. Fan Hiu Sing (Germany)
  6. Hirai Miu (Japan)
  7. Hove Alena (United States)
  8. Hyeonjeong Lee (South Korea)
  9. Hyun Seo Kim (South Korea)
  10. Jeongmin An (South Korea)
  11. Kanagawa Mayumi (United States)
  12. Kang Seunghyun (South Korea)
  13. Kang Yookyung (South Korea)
  14. Karen Kido (Japan)
  15. Kikukawa Honoka (Japan)
  16. Kim Alexander Won-Ho (South Korea)
  17. Kim Yubin (South Korea)
  18. Kimura Wakana (Japan)
  19. Ko Donghwi (South Korea)
  20. Kogan Daniel (Canada)
  21. Kristina Georgieva (Germany)
  22. Lee Jiyoon (South Korea)
  23. Lee Anna (United States)
  24. Lee Youngjoo (South Korea)
  25. Luka Ispir (France)
  26. Ma Sarah Ying (United States)
  27. Marton Mira (Poland)
  28. Matsuoka Seina (Japan)
  29. Morishita Masaki (Japan)
  30. Nakajima Mitsuki (Japan)
  31. Ok Sunjae (South Korea)
  32. Francesco Papa (Italy)
  33. Margaryta Pochebut (Ukraine)
  34. Redio Stoli (Austria)
  35. Roussine Alexis (France)
  36. Saito Aoi (Japan)
  37. Scialom Iris (France)
  38. SUNG CHI CHANG (Taiwan)
  39. Takemoto Kaho (Japan)
  40. Toschev Leonard (Germany)
  41. Ueno Yoichiro (Japan)
  42. Cécile Vonderwahl (Switzerland)
  43. Wang Ruiyi (China)
  44. Wichert Maya (Germany)
  45. Yang Esther (South Korea)
  46. Yinan Zhao (China)
  47. Jinyoung Yoon (South Korea)
  48. Haewon Yoon (South Korea)
  49. Yume Zamponi (Italy)
  50. Zaletel Černoš Rok (Slovenia)

Established in 1958, the George Enescu International Competition has been held every two years since 2014. The 2022 winners were violinist Maria Marica and cellist Benjamin Kruithof.

Best of Technique

In The Best of Technique you’ll discover the top playing tips of the world’s leading string players and teachers. It’s packed full of exercises for students, plus examples from the standard repertoire to show you how to integrate the technique into your playing.


The Strad’s Masterclass series brings together the finest string players with some of the greatest string works ever written. Always one of our most popular sections, Masterclass has been an invaluable aid to aspiring soloists, chamber musicians and string teachers since the 1990s.


American collector David L. Fulton amassed one of the 20th century’s finest collections of stringed instruments. This year’s calendar pays tribute to some of these priceless treasures, including Yehudi Menuhin’s celebrated ‘Lord Wilton’ Guarneri, the Carlo Bergonzi once played by Fritz Kreisler, and four instruments by Antonio Stradivari.