Hollywood violinist Israel Baker dies aged 92

Violinist Israel Baker, a leading soloist in Los Angeles in the 1960s, died on Christmas Day at the age of 92. Born in Chicago, Baker got his first concertmaster post with the Dayton (Ohio) Philharmonic. A year later he was hired by Stokowski to join the ...

You are moments away from reading great content from The Strad

This article is exclusively available to members of The Strad community. 
JOIN HERE FOR FREE. Already a member, please SIGN IN.

Strad product montage

What you get:

  • Exclusive content including previews of the latest magazine articles
  • Access to our ever-growing library of features and resources
  • Our weekly newsletters with news, views and videos from the string world
  • To be part of the discussion by commenting on articles
  • The latest exclusive offers from The Strad and The Strad Shop