Premiere of the Month: Gabriela Lena Frank’s new Concerto Grosso

Gabriela pc Mariah Tauger - Copy

Indigenous Peruvian music inspires a new Concerto Grosso for the Takács Quartet

‘I still exist’. This is the definition of Kachkaniraqmi,  US composer Gabriela Lena Frank’s new Concerto Grosso for string quartet and string ensemble, which will be premiered by the Takács Quartet and musicians of the Colorado Music Festival…

Already subscribed? Please sign in

Subscribe to continue reading…

We’re delighted that you are enjoying our website. For a limited period, you can try an online subscription to The Strad completely free of charge.

  • Free 7-day trial

    Not sure about subscribing? Sign up now to read this article in full and you’ll also receive unlimited access to premium online content, including the digital edition and online archive for 7 days.

    No strings attached – we won’t ask for your card details

  • Subscribe 

    No more paywalls. To enjoy the best in-depth features and analysis from The Strad’s latest and past issues, upgrade to a subscription now. You’ll also enjoy regular issues and special supplements* and access to an online archive of issues back to 2010.


* Issues and supplements are available as both print and digital editions. Online subscribers will only receive access to the digital versions.